Waikato Awa Race 2017 Results

Ngā Tai Whakarongo Whānau Hoe are pleased to have hosted the Waikato Awa Race 2017. Despite the rain and cold weather, paddlers still came out to paddle in our event. We would like to thank all our local club teams for their willing support: Te Aputa Tira Hoe, Te Toki Vogaging Trust, Ngā Hau e Whā, Waikato Dragon Boat Association, Tūrangawaewae and other regional clubs Ocean Blue, Taniwha and Pakuranga.

We also thank our tremendous awa committee members, volunteers and paddlers who made our day a success.   Ngā mihi to Daniel Moke for his artistic work on our awa logo.  Thank you to Kirsty Barber for our Hangi fundraiser.  Our day began with karakia by Frank Thorn, and Hoturoa Kerr closed off our day.  We acknowledge those who have passed and those who remain with us.  Nana P who donated one of our trophies and was very much a part of our club.  Also Eva Rickard and her mokopuna who paddle with us today.

We thank our boaties who did an incredible job manoeuvring up and down the awa and also to our local Waikato boat master saying he had no concerns about our race.  Vanessa Potts for her role as Race Director and her mahi and Maraea Nikora who directed us around Health and Safety.  Again we extend our gratitude for your support and look forward to future races.  Bring it on!

Photos and videos of the day have been posted on our Ngā Tai Whakarongo Whānau HoeWaka facebook page

We appreciate any feedback to our race – Please email ngataiwhakarongo@gmail.com

 

Ko te wiki o te reo Māori

Kia kaha, Kia maia, kia manawanui

Mauriora

Kay Berryman

695 paddlers have looked at this page
Updated: Sep 12, 2017
Hall of Fame
  1. Jan 2018
    1. Sun 28th Jan
  2. Feb 2018
    1. Sat 3rd Feb Entries close: 8 days
    2. Sat 3rd Feb Entries close: 8 days
    3. Sun 4th Feb Entries close: 9 days
    4. Fri 16th - Sun 18th Feb Entries close: 4 Feb
    5. Sat 24th Feb
  3. Mar 2018
    1. Sat 3rd Mar
    2. Sat 10th Mar Entries close: 3 Mar
    3. Mon 19th - Fri 23rd Mar Entries close: 27 Feb
    4. Fri 30th Mar - Mon 2nd Apr
  4. Apr 2018
    1. Sat 21st Apr
    2. Sat 21st - Sun 22nd Apr
 » more events...
0