Waka Ama NZ present the following awards at two of our National events. Below provides information for each of the awards and the historic recipients of each.

Sprint Nationals

Since 2011 Nga Kaihoe o Aotearoa (Waka Ama New Zealand) have awarded two new trophies. These trophies are perpetual trophies that are awarded at nationals and enjoyed by generations of waka ama paddlers.
The trophies were carved by Matahi Whakataka Brightwell who has been instrumental in the re-birth and growth of the sport of Waka Ama in Aotearoa.

Club Points Trophy

The Club Points Trophy recognises a clubs paddling excellence and achievement throughout the week. Points are accumulated throughout the week from all finals and the club with the most points at the end of the week awarded this honour.

2024: Horouta Waka Hoe
2023: Horouta Waka Hoe
2021: Horouta Waka Hoe
2020: Horouta Waka Hoe
2019: Horouta Waka Hoe
2018: Horouta Waka Hoe
2017: Horouta Waka Hoe

2016: Horouta Waka Hoe
2015: Horouta Waka Hoe
2014: Horouta Waka Hoe
2013: Manukau Outrigger Canoe Club
2012: Horouta Waka Hoe
2011: Horouta Waka Hoe

Ace Cuthers Memorial Club Spirit Award

The Ace Cuthers Memorial Club Spirit Award takes into consideration actions of the club throughout the week and their performance on and off the water. The club that overwhelmingly epitomises the values of Waka Ama; Manaakitanga, Whanaungatanga, Hauora , Tu Tangata, and of course the memory of Ace himself. Ace was a special man in the history of our sport and was instrumental in helping the sport of Waka Ama get to where it is today.

2024: Te Pou Herenga Waka Ama
2023: Taranaki Outrigger Canoe Club
2021: Tu Tangi Ora
2020: Hei Matau Paddlers
2019: Mitamitaga o le Pasefika Va'a-alo Canoe Club
2018: Te Rau Oranga o Ngāti Kahungunu Waka Ama Club
2017: Te Pou Herenga Waka Ama Club

2016: Cook Island Outrigger Canoe Association
2015: Te Toki Voyaging Trust
2014: Nga Hoe Horo Outrigger Canoe Club
2012: Porirua Canoe Kayak Club
2011: Turangawaewae Waka Sports

Secondary School Nationals

Putu Mihaka Trophy

The Putu Mihaka Trophy is awarded to the school that displays manaaki, awhi, and an overall positive attitude throughout the event.
This award pays homage to the late Te Putuangaanga (Putu) Mihaka nō Ngāti Pikiao. Putu was a strong advocate of rangatahi Māori, played significant roles in organisations like Te Waiariki Purea Trust, and was a huge supporter of the waka community.

2024: Te Kura o Kokohuia
2023: Te Wharekura o Mauao
2021: Pukekohe High School
2019: Te Kura Māori o Porirua
2018: Auckland Girls Grammar School
2017: Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Tonga o Hokianga

2016: Kaipara College
2015: Rongotai College
2014: Ōtaki College
2013: Turakina Māori Girls College
2012: Turakina Māori Girls College
2011: Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Ara hou

Laurie Durand Memorial Award - Te Pou Tautokohia

Te Pou Tautokohia is awarded to the school that displays tautoko to others and the event. Te Pou Tautokohia pays homage to the late Laurie Durand, a stalwart of Te Waiariki Purea Trust, Waka Ama, and the National Secondary School Event.

2024: Whangamata Area School
2023: Napier Boys High School